Medicacom

Artificial intelligence (AI) for ophthalmology

published by medicacom The 15 March 2021

I. Introduction

Deep Learning is a newly emerged technique resulting from the rapid and upward progress of artificial intelligence.

This is actually a method of machine learning, which consists of: feeding a machine with massive data, so that it can process and model it autonomously.

Ophthalmology, especially retin, is an area where it is serious; AI plays a prejudicial role given the use of a multitude of digital images.

The AI will thus succeed & agrave; detect abnormalities in the eyes and generate algorithms that identify the specifics of each pathological case.

II.Discussion

1.How can AI helps oculists?

Due to the difficulty; the interpretation of scanners by humans and the large number of documents to process on a daily basis, review times are getting longer.

The AI can make the same diagnoses as a doctor in a reduced analysis time. just a few seconds.

The solution recommended by Deep Learning will help the medical body to help the medical body. sort out patients requiring urgent treatment and therefore avoid any risk of the disease developing.

The AI thus offers the possibility; to speed up patient care. [1]

2.What is the use of AI in neuro-ophthalmology??

  • Artificial intelligence enables us to analyze and manage data on diseases that affect millions of people, such as diabetes. Diabetic retinosis is difficult to achieve. Detect because in the initial stages affected people do not notice any changes in their vision. Artificial intelligence makes it possible, in this case of silent pathologies, to achieve early detection thanks to the analysis of the symptoms of patients with a history of diabetes. Software is developed in this context ; after taking a photo of the elect with a retinal camera, they allow doctors to check for the presence of any signs that may indicate an early stage of the disease. diabetic retinopathy. [2]
  • New AI technologies, namely Deep Learning, allow precise and rapid interpretation of the appearance of the optic nerve, on simple digital images of the fundus of the eye
  • These techniques allow the precise identification of papillary edema associated with intracranial hypertension
  • The performance of these technologies is comparable & agrave; that of experts in neuro-ophthalmology, which confirms the usefulness; AI and its undeniable role in accelerating the diagnosis and therefore the care of patients in the field of ophthalmology. [3]
  • In this section, we will be able to recall the role of AI in predicting the development of AMD: AMD or Age-Related Macular Degeneration is a pathology affecting the eye, and more precisely the retina. It results from the deterioration of the macula, which is the central area of the retina of the eye where visual acuity is greatest. This zone allows the vision of details and colors with precision. Macular degeneration is the consequence of aging leading to a progressive loss of central vision. AI has made it possible for AMD to assess the urgency of referring a patient to a retinal specialist based on the analysis of 3D OCT * images. In fact, several studies have shown that the AI model has eliminated errors made by physicians in estimating the degree of urgency. Clearly, then, AI will allow the interpretation of data that grows in volume with new imaging devices, and faster analysis for more subjects, for the benefit of patients. [4]

3.Current and future capacities

  • Detect abnormalities: microaneurysm, hemorrhage, venous dilation, etc.
  • Quantify these anomalies.
  • Find and classify diseases.
  • Guiding therapy.
  • Detect repeat offenses.
  • Establish prognostic factors

4.Examples of applications that use AI for ophthalmology

The growing use of smartphones and connected tablets among seniors makes it possible to consider personalized assessment of visual acuity (VA) and its monitoring at home. ForeseeHome is an application that can be launched at home and allows a simple test to be performed daily to check for minimal changes in vision. It is based on the principle of early detection of distortions. The monthly reports are sent directly to the doctor who is then alerted.

In the same vein, the Odysight app, by Tilak , was added. launched in 2019 for the follow-up of maculopathies: early detection of the evolution of the disease by generating an alert of drop in AV response to anticipate the response and therefore the thesis response Early detection of disease progression by generating a low AV alert. [5]

III.Conclusion

In the light of all the above, it could be said that AI techniques in the health field especially in the field of ophthalmology have resulted in the facilitation of the task of ophthalmologists and thus shorten the time required. for diagnosis. As a result, Deep Learning in ophthalmology will make it possible to sort out patients requiring rapid treatment or to detect pathologies which put the patient's life in danger.

Finally, remember that despite; help and utility What AI in ophthalmology provides could not replace ophthalmologists who would have to use all these technologies while keeping their surgical strategies, their empathies and especially their visions of the sets of problems of a patient.

So, we have to be very careful. the evolution of AI techniques in ophthalmology and ophthalmology their impacts on quality; of our medical care which should always respect the sequence of steps; the diagnosis and then the prognosis or the suggestion of treatments, these systems will certainly modify our care pathway.

Reference: [1] letter-neurologist / utility-artificial-intelligence-neuro-ophthalmology [2] artificial-intelligence-from-google-ophthalmology-service [3] / artificial-intelligence-futur -de-l-ophtalmologie / [4] J De Fauw JR Ledsam B Romera-Paredes Clinically applicable deep learning for diagnosis and referral in retinal disease. Nat Med 2018 (24) [5] Querques G, Querques L, et al. Preferential hyperacuity perimeter as a functional tool for monitoring exudative age-related macular degeneration in patients treated by intravitreal ranibizumab.

Medicacom
Devis en ligne

L'intelligence artificielle (IA) dans l’ophtalmologie

Publié par medicacom Le 15 mars 2021

I. Introduction

Le Deep Learning ou apprentissage profond est une technique nouvellement apparue résultante du progrès rapide et ascendant de l’intelligence artificielle.

C’est en fait une méthode d’apprentissage automatique, qui consiste à alimenter une machine avec des données massives, afin qu’elle puisse les traiter et les modéliser de manière autonome.

L’ophtalmologie, particulièrement la rétine, constitue un domaine où l’IA joue un rôle prépondérant vu l’utilisation d’une multitude d’images numériques.

L’IA aboutira ainsi à détecter des anomalies dans les yeux et générer des algorithmes qui permettent d’identifier les spécificités de chaque cas pathologique.

II. Discussion

1.Comment l’IA peut-elle aider les oculistes ?

En raison de la difficulté de l’interprétation des scanners par les humains et le nombre important des documents à traiter au quotidien, les délais d’examen se prolongent.

L’IA peut faire les mêmes diagnostics qu’un médecin en un temps d’analyse réduit à quelques secondes seulement.

La solution préconisée par le Deep Learning permettra d’aider le corps médical à trier les patients nécessitant un traitement urgent et par conséquent éviter tout risque de dégénération de la maladie.

L’IA offre ainsi la possibilité d’accélérer la prise en charge des patients. [1]

2.Quelle utilité possède l’IA en neuro ophtalmologie ?

  • L’intelligence artificielle nous permet d’analyser et de gérer des données sur des maladies qui affectent des millions de personnes, telles que le diabète. La rétinose diabétique est difficile à détecter car, dans les phases initiales, les personnes touchées ne remarquent pas de changements de leur vision. L’intelligence artificielle permet, dans ce cas de pathologies silencieuses, de réaliser une détection précoce grâce à l’analyse des symptômes des patients présentant des antécédents de diabète. Des logiciels sont développé dans ce contexte ; après la prise d’une photo de l’œil avec une caméra rétinienne, ils permet aux médecins de dépister la présence de tout signe pouvant indiquer un stade précoce de la rétinopathie diabétique.[2]
  • Les nouvelles technologies d’IA à savoir le Deep Learning permettent une interprétation précise et rapide de l’aspect du nerf optique, sur de simples images digitales du fond de l’œil.
  • Ces techniques permettent d’identifier avec précision un œdème papillaire associé à une hypertension intracrânienne.
  • La performance de ces technologies est comparable à celle des experts en neuro-ophtalmologie ce qui confirme l’utilité de l’IA et son rôle indéniable pour accélérer le diagnostic et par conséquent la prise en charge des patients dans le domaine de l’ophtalmologie. [3]
  • Nous pourrons dans ce volet rappeler le rôle de l’IA dans la prédiction de l’évolution de la DMLA : La DMLA ou Dégénérescence Maculaire Liée à l’âge est une pathologie touchant l’œil, et plus précisément la rétine. Elle résulte de la détérioration de la macula, qui est la zone centrale de la rétine de l’œil où l’acuité visuelle est maximale. Cette zone permet la vision des détails et des couleurs avec précision. La dégénérescence maculaire est la conséquence du vieillissement entrainant une perte progressive de la vision centrale. L’IA a permis en ce qui concerne la DMLA, l’évaluation du d’urgence à adresser un patient à un spécialiste de la rétine sur la base de l’analyse d’images d’OCT* en 3D. En fait, plusieurs études ont montré que le modèle d’IA a permis l’éviction des erreurs commises, par les médecins, dans l’estimation du degré d’urgence. Il est donc évident que l’IA permettra d’interpréter des données dont le volume augmente avec les nouveaux appareils d’imagerie, et d’effectuer plus rapidement l’analyse pour un plus grand nombre de sujets, pour le bénéfice des patients. [4]

3.Capacités actuelles et futures

  • Détecter des anomalies : micro-anévrysme, hémorragie, dilatation veineuse, etc.
  • Quantifier ces anomalies.
  • Dépister et classifier des maladies.
  • Guider la thérapeutique.
  • Détecter des récidives.
  • Établir des facteurs pronostiques

4.Exemples d’applications qui recourent à l’IA en faveur de l’ophtalmologie

L’utilisation grandissante des Smartphones et des tablettes connectés chez les seniors permet d’envisager l’évaluation personnalisée de l’acuité visuelle (AV) et son suivi à domicile. ForeseeHome représente une application qui peut être lancée à domicile et permet de réaliser quotidiennement un test simple pour vérifier les changements minimes dans la vision. Elle est fondée sur le principe de la détection précoce des distorsions. Les rapports mensuels sont envoyés directement chez le médecin qui est alors alerté.

Dans le même esprit, l’application Odysight, de Tilak, a été lancée en 2019 pour le suivi des maculopathies : détecter précocement l’évolution de la maladie en générant une alerte de baisse d’AV pour anticiper la réponse thérapeutique et ainsi détecter précocement l’évolution de la maladie en générant une alerte de baisse d’AV. [5]

III. Conclusion

A la lumière de tout ce qui précède, on pourrait affirmer que les techniques d’IA dans le domaine de la santé en particulier dans le domaine de l’ophtalmologie ont abouti à la facilitation de la tâche des ophtalmologues et de raccourcir ainsi le temps nécessaire pour le diagnostic. En conséquence, le Deep Learning en ophtalmologie permettra de faire le tri des patients nécessitant une prise en charge rapide ou de détecter les pathologies qui mettent en jeu le pronostic vital des patients.

Rappelons enfin que malgré l’aide et l’utilité que fournisse l’IA en ophtalmologie ne pourrait pas remplacer les ophtalmologues qui devraient se servir de toutes ces technologies tout en gardant leurs stratégies chirurgicales, leurs empathies et surtout leurs visions des ensembles des problématiques d’un patient.

Ainsi, nous devons être très attentifs à l’évolution des techniques d’IA en ophtalmologie et à leurs impacts dans la qualité de notre prise en charge médicale qui devrait toujours respecter l’enchainement des étapes ; le diagnostic et ensuite le pronostic ou la suggestion de traitements, ces systèmes vont certes modifier notre filière de soins.

Référence : [1] lettre-neurologue/utilite-intelligence-artificielle-neuro-ophtalmologie [2] lintelligence-artificielle-de-google-service-de-lophtalmologie [3] /intelligence-artificielle-avenir-de-l-ophtalmologie/ [4] J De Fauw JR Ledsam B Romera-Paredes Clinically applicable deep learning for diagnosis and referral in retinal disease. Nat Med 2018 (24) [5] Querques G, Querques L, et al. Preferential hyperacuity perimeter as a functional tool for monitoring exudative age-related macular degeneration in patients treated by intravitreal ranibizumab.